Walters Art Museum

I arrived at the Walters Art Museum around 11am, and entered through the large, imposing metal doors on Charles St . Once inside, a bored looking teenager gave me a guide map with a slightly forced smile, and I made my way up the marble steps to the indoor courtyard leading off to the various European galleries.

 

Said courtyard was decorated with a Greco-roman style with statues of naked gods (not necessarily family friendly, but it is nice to know I have a better cock then a Greek god) and fully clothed emperors around the perimeter of the otherwise open space, a small fountain sat near the grand stairway leading to the rest of the European collection. A hallway lead to the actual Greek\Roman exhibits and a small spiral staircase led down to the museum store\cafe.

 

Their Greek\Roman as well as their ancient Egyptian collections were in the more modern Center Street Building .  Their G\R collection was the largest I’d ever seen, and I thought I recognized one of the vases from the Lowe but I was mistaken (though they do have pieces out on loan). Sadly, I didn’t see their Egyptian collection (necessitating a return visit).

 

I took the elevator up to the third floor and browsed through the museum’s extensive Renaissance and baroque galleries. I crossed the bridge into the Hackerman House to see their surprisingly small Ancient Americas gallery, but skipped the building’s main gallery (as HH wasn’t originally on my itinerary for this trip).

 

It’s 12:15pm, and instead of going up to see the Medieval and Islamic Art galleries on the 4 th floor I take the elevator to the café and museum store on the first level. I was a bit disappointed that their menu consisted entirely of pre-packed sandwiches\salads, but I was going slightly dizzy from hunger (not to mention sensory overload).

 

After lunch, I browsed their extensive museum store. They had some nice maps\prints and a nice selection of children’s books\games, but I didn’t have money leftover to buy anything.

 

I spoke to the woman at the information desk, and she eventually led me toward my next destination (continued below).

Categories: art, attractions, Baltimore | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

