July 4th – part 1

10:47am – leave apartment to catch Metro to downtown.

 

10:48:36am – realize left keys inside apt, and that leasing office is closed is until Tuesday.

 

11:17am – arrive at Shot Tower station and head over to Fell’s Point to catch water taxi to Fort McHenry .

 

11:27am – approached by my first beggar of the day, he had a sob story about needing my spare change to get a cab to see his wife because AAA hadn’t arrived to pick him up…  Blah, blah, blah, I have a boat to catch.

 

12:35pm – arrive at Fort McHenry National Monument & Historic Shrine. A few hundred people are already gathered in the sprawling field outside the fort, and a sizable crowd has assembled to watch a fife and drum corps march through the entrance to the historic shrine.

 

(I don’t have any good notes from inside the fort, but I’ll try to write up something to post here for the weekend)

 

2:17pm – return to water taxi stand

            2:31pm – first water taxi arrives, but it quickly fills up.

            3:01pm – second, slightly smaller, water taxi arrives, and I among the limited

group allowed to board

 

3:35pm – after several intermediary stops, we finally arrive back at Fell’s Point

 

4:15pm – after walking the length of South Broadway, I make my way back to Inner Harbor . I’m getting hungry, but I know I don’t have enough money to get a sandwich to tide me over until dinner. Fortunately, some restaurant chain hired people to give out chips\salsa as part of a promotion.

 

4:30pm – I take an open seat in the Harbor Place amphitheatre to eat my chips\salsa and watch tourists make calls on “world’s largest cell phone’ -sponsored by CricKet Communications”

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

