Yes we Canton: Part 1

The city’s visitor’s bureau likes to say that Baltimore is a “city of neighborhoods” and encourages visitors to explore what the city has to offer. This is one of those explorations, and like most such adventures things didn’t quite go as planned.

 

I left the apartment around 11am, and proceeded towards the light rail on Howard St . I took said train southbound to Convention Center stop where I hoped to catch the newly launched Charm City Circulator.

 

So I got off the train and waited on the corner as several circulators passed right by me without stopping even though I KNOW they have a stop at the Convention Center. I make my way towards Harbor Place , and midway there come across an orange\green sign with the circulator logo on it.

 

The Charm City Circulator is a free, city sponsored bus\water taxi service designed to connect the various transit options together while providing better access to hotels\tourist attractions in the downtown area. The bus I got on was clean, comfortable and not overly crowded (especially for a Saturday).

 

My destination was the Harbor Connector in Fells Point, but their only operating bus line only went as far as Harbor East. Fortunately, it’s not that bad of a walk (it’s just not as convenient).

 

I arrived at Broadway and Thames Streets to find that the docks were completely deserted. No boats, no ticket agents and no tourists – just the usual cadre of panhandlers. I walked out to the end of the pier, but I didn’t see any boats coming. I recheck my map – no connector service on Saturdays (of course not).

 

This was going to be a longer day than I thought.

Categories: adventures, Baltimore, Canton, Charm CityCirculator, neighborhoods | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

