Second Saturday: Part 2

The first thing I did after picking up the “venue crawl”
card from the counter was to put the tiny blue sticker on it that I gotten from
Gallery Myrthis earlier that afternoon. The second was to go back up to Cyclops
for that sticker the manager had promised me earlier…except now he can’t find
them (natch).

While he searches for those stickers, I walk around his
store getting those glossy fliers all sticky from my sweaty fingers. I mumble,
apparently aloud, that I’m tired of carrying them, “but they’re too small to
bother getting a bag for and too big to fit neatly into my pocket.”

“WHAT was that?” Fuck.

Why is it every time I mumble something to myself there’s
ALWAYS someone behind me demanding to know what I just said?

“It was nothing,” I said taking my now stickered card back
from him and walking away.

“I KNOW you said SOMETHING,” he said following me out of his
store. I crossed the street quickly and didn’t bother looking back.

It was almost 7pm when I went into Load of Fun\Theatre to
inquire about tickets to their Alley Aerial Festival. I know because I asked
the crew from The Single Carrot where the box office for the festival was, and
they were able to get someone to unlock the door for me.

Unfortunately, the show didn’t start for another hour (I had
the event time confused with Everyman’s “A Raisin in the Sun” which started at
7:30) so I went back outside where TSC had just finished setting up their
“Neighborhood Art Project” and a few people had gathered to begin the process
of filling in the 12”x24” poster board the theater was providing for the event.

“You were at ‘Linus & Alora’ last season weren’t you?”
TSC Artistic director Nathaniel Cooper asked me.

Fuck.
“Yeah…maybe…why?”

“Yes, I recognize you from one of our shows – your name is
Jonathan isn’t it?”

Double fuck.

Then I notice that I’m standing next to Jessica Garrett who
played Linus’ unidentified tormentor in the play, so I took the chance to ask
the question that had been nagging me since last season:

“What were Sunshine and Noodle supposed to be anyway?”

“Well…um…we had a meeting about that, but it was never
resolved. So I guess it’s up to whatever you want to interpret it as.”

‘Hey, Jonathan, who were Sunshine & Noodle?’ ‘They were…trolls, demons — angels, yeah angels.’
‘Thanks, you’re really good at interpreting things.’

See how helpful that little exercise was? Me neither, so I
sulked back into the gallery pretending to marvel at the various woodcuttings
until they allowed us back into the main staging area.

This rather crowded holding area was the same black box
Glass Mind Theater used to stage “Neighborhood 3,” but somehow it looked
smaller without the seats. They also had a bar area with “Coke, Diet Coke,
water and wine.”

I ordered the Diet, and turns around to the old, beaten up
fridge behind him and says “that’ll be $3.”

“Put it back,” I sighed.

“Look, we gotta pay our actors somehow.”

So what was that whole $20 thing I had to pay when I came in
for? This is Station North NOT Disneyland, but they got the whole captive
audience thing down pat.

Several minutes later they called us into the seating area.
They called it “Graffiti Alley” because it was an alley and it was covered
entirely with colorful tags of all sorts and everyone coming into it had to get
their picture taken in front of one wall or another, then they had to get shots
of the alley from their seats. It was nothing but flashes until the stage
manager came out to announce the rules.

Remember how I said this wasn’t Disneyland? They proved it once
the acts started. You never forget these acts were dangerous or that the
performers were only being supported by two strings of rope\silk, but the whole
twist body into pretentious position and wait for applause bit got old rather
quickly.

The sole exception to this was the aggressive, almost erotic
silk routine “Turf” about female competitiveness. The “aerial fence” act that
followed was simply boring, lacking either narrative or visual interest – even
the gawkers on the other end of the alley left after a few minutes. I, however,
had to sit there until intermission.

I left the gallery at intermission just as Cooper was putting his now completed poster board back into his theater’s box office. I
looked down at my card, sighed and made my way to back to my apartment.

Categories: adventures, art, Baltimore, entertainment, festivals, neighborhoods, retail, Station North | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Second Saturday: Part 2

  1. J. Garrett

    “Well…um…we had a meeting about that, but it was never
    resolved. So I guess it’s up to whatever you want to interpret it as.”

    Hey Jonathan,
    I appreciate that you didn’t like the play and I’m sorry if I didn’t give you the answer you were looking for but I never said what you quoted me as saying above. “Well..um..we had a meeting” is not something I said. We don’t make a habit of “having meetings” about characters. Nor did I mention that “it was never resolved”. We are also not in a habit of taking huge questions about characters and then opening a show while saying “eh, whatever, let the audience figure it all out. We have no opinion”. I told you that they were figments of the imagination of linus, but that their scope on the scale of good to evil was interpretive. You can dislike anything you want, and I appreciate that you are honest about it, but when you portray me as someone unable to put basic speech parts together I will correct you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

