First World Problems: Part 2

I got back to the apartment around 2:30pm, sat down on my sofa and opened up my laptop. Surprisingly, for being gone “6 hours” my RSS feeds were nearly dead, so I logged onto Facebook.

One of my friends posted a video of a man leaping out of a moving car to save a 4-year old who had wandered into 4 lanes of oncoming traffic. The caption was “OMG!! Only in China!”

I made a comment that anyone would do that if their kid was in danger. Then I realized it was insulting to the person in the video and as I tried to edit my comment so people wouldn’t be offended. As I was almost finished, I got a message of a new response from one of the previous commenters (which I hadn’t read through before posting).

“You better not be talking be talking about ME!!!! Yes, I said it was ‘scary, and insane’ but YOU are taking what I said completely OUT OF CONTEXT, you FUCKING IDIOT!!!! YOU DON’T KNOW ME so DON’T YOU DARE JUDGE ME, ASSHOLE!!! BTW, DROP THE FUCKING ATTITUDE TOO, cuz I DON”T put up with shit from ANYONE – ESPECIALLY from a DUMB BITCH like YOU!!! NO-ONE DISRESPECTS ME LIKE THAT – NO-ONE!!!!!”

Why do all my conversations (real or online) seem to end like this?

As I close Facebook in absolute disgust, I hear a loud knock on my door causing me to nearly jolt my notebook off my lap. I check the keyhole, and there are two teenagers standing there, one with a clipboard and one with a large stack of yellow envelopes.

“We’re here to survey the area on behalf of the (redacted) Foundation,” the one on the left said earnestly. “We want to know if you or any of your household is Jewish.”

“No, I’m not.”

Their faces lit up children on Christmas morning. “Good, because we have Good News for YOU, there was a man in Israel who was killed for his belief that all people are God’s children…”

“His name was Jesus, wasn’t it?” I said nearly shutting the door in their faces…but then thought neither He nor the person quoted above would approve of that.

“WOW! You’re already ahead of the game. We’re just here to spread our love of Him because we feel it is important to let ALL the peoples of the world – especially in the Jewish community – about the wonders that Jesus performs in our lives and YOURS.”

“…But if you’ve already opened your heart to Him,” her companion said. “We will find reaching out to other people in your community who are not as fortunate as you. Thank you for listening, and may God bless you.”

Now with God’s blessing, this “dumb bitch” went downstairs to get a shower and get ready for his day job.

I left around 4:30 because I knew it would take a while to get to Fell’s Point on a Saturday evening. What I didn’t know, was there was an Orioles game tonight so while the Inner Harbor was jumping with people, Fell’s Point was completely deserted.

I got off the Circulator at 5:30, and walked right into the nearest restaurant. Even with an appetizer and entrée, it was still only 6:21pm when I got my check. It appears as if I had some time to kill before my show at 8pm.

I walk around Broadway Market and then head back to the Circulator stop at Aliceanna Street. I waited there for about 10 minutes before deciding I could probably just walk there as it was only one stop away.

I get to Broadway and Gough Streets when I see the Circulator pull into the curb, but it was too late. I was already two blocks from my destination, and at 7:15pm I finally walked into the tiny, wood paneled lobby of Fells Point Corner Theatre.

I bought a ticket, and spent the next half hour waiting for the doors to open. When they did, I was surprised how small the space actually was (slightly smaller than Mobtown, but with better seats).

I won’t get into the details of the show as this post is already longer than I intended to write, but I will say that a show about war, rape and genocide in East Africa certainly puts a new perspective on unwanted plastic cups or hurting someone’s feeling on Facebook. You can read the rest of my thoughts on said play here.

I got back to the bus stop at 10:45pm, and made my way two stops north hoping not to miss my stop in an unfamiliar neighborhood. Fortunately, the only other passenger on the bus with me was also heading to the subway so I followed him across the narrow street to the station.

I walked around the edge of the pocket park, down the stairs and eventually to the fare gate where once again my Smartcard wouldn’t work…

Categories: adventures, Baltimore, Charm CityCirculator, festivals, metro subway, theatre | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “First World Problems: Part 2

  1. Pingback: The slow “fast ferry” « Adventures of Twiggar

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

